John Wooden: I Love To Teach

This is a fantastic talk on coaching and teaching from John Wooden (UCLA Basketball). 

Awesome, or what? Perhaps the best example of intimate connection between coaching and teaching that I've found. The next time you are at a music convention and someone starts bashing athletics, tell him or her about this video. All music teachers can learn something from Coach Wooden.

Some music teachers scoff at referring to their ensembles as a team, but I embrace it, because it's true. You don't have to compete in order to be a team. Besides, as Coach says, "I never mentioned winning. My idea is that you can lose when you outscore somebody in a game, and you can win when you are outscored." This is someone who understands that reaching your full potential is the heart of the matter. A team is one way to manifest that potential.

I need to be more like John Wooden. Take a look at his pyramid of leadership and tell me that you don't need to be more like him as well.